HCA NEWS Queen Margrethe to receive the Hans Christian Andersen Prize

Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II is one of three artists who will receive this year's Hans Christian Andersen Prize, "The Fairytale of My Life ."

By ms - H.C. Andersen 2005 - 23 January 2004

An artist, who happens to be a queen, an Italian translator with bite and humor, and a professor from Brazil will all receive the Hans Christian Andersen Prize "The Fairytale of My Life" on 2 April 2004 in Odense.

On April 2 - Hans Christian Andersen's birthday - the Hans Christian Andersen Prize Committee will award for the ninth time three honorary prizes to individuals or institutions that communicate, construe and convey information about the writer and his works.

It is as an artist inspired by Hans Christian Andersen that Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II will receive the prize "The Fairytale of My Life."  From among her contributions, the prize committee singled out her costume design for TV-Teatret's "The Shepherdess and the Chimneysweep," the decoupages for the television film "The Snow Queen" and accompanying book, and the staging for the ballet pantomime "Love in the Dustbin."

Italian translator Bruno Berni will receive the "Fairytale of My Life" award for a translation of Hans Christian Andersen's fairytales with bite and humor and without the saccharine quality found in a number of other translations.

The Brazilian professor, Dr. Ana Maria da Costa S. Menin, will receive the "Fairytale of My Life" award for her work on Hans Christian Andersen. This work includes, among other things, a doctoral dissertation, "O Patinho Feio de Hans Christian Andersen, O Abrasileiramento de Um Conto Para Criancas" (The Ugly Duckling by Hans Christian Andersen: The Brazilianization of a Tale for Children).

The honorary prize - a bronze statuette shaped like the book "The Fairytale of My Life," executed by artist Jens Galschiøt from Funen - will be awarded to the recipients at a gala in Odense. It will be arranged in cooperation with the Municipality of Odense and the HCA2005 Secretariat.

Last year, paper cutout artist Sonia Brandes, Hans Christian Andersen scholar Niels Oxenvad, and puppeteer and theater director Antanas Markuckis from Lithuania received the three prizes.

The Hans Christian Andersen Prize Committee consists of: 
Book dealer Børge Grønne, architect Kristian Isager, secretary Lis Hedelund, journalist Marianne Koch, management secretary Susanne W. Kristensen, public relations manager Niels Jørgen Langkilde, film and television producer Ebbe Larsen, attorney Jan Moosmand,  and city council member (S) Benny Nybo.