Andersen's 199th anniversary at Odense Theatre:
On April 2, 2004, Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II was awarded the Hans Christian Andersen Award Committee Honorary Award along with the Italian translator Bruno Berni and the Brazilian professor, Dr. Ana Maria da Costa Santos Menin.

The ceremony took place at the Odense Theatre in celebration of Hans Christian Andersen 199th anniversary.

Also, Canadian theatre director Robert Lepage received Odense City's Hans Christian Andersen Award of 50.000 EURO which goes towards his coming Hans Christian Andersen rendition in connection with a major theatre production set to premiere in 2005.

In addition to this the first five Danish Hans Christian Andersen Ambassadors where appointed. They are: actresses Bodil Udsen, Ghita Nørby, Susse Wold; graphical artist Per Arnoldi, and designer Lin Utzon.

Produced by:
Edited by: Danny Liljeholm Wisborg

« Back