The Artistic Advisory Board assists the Hans Christian Andersen 2005 Foundation to select and put together the different events that will mark Hans Christian Andersen's 200th birthday throughout the world.

The members comprising the Board bring with them expertise in a number of artistic genres as well as the fields of education and tourism.  Each category is composed of a local (Funen), a national and an international representative.

The members of the board are:

Associate Professor Dag Heede, Department of Literature, Culture and Media, University of Southern Denmark.

Professor Anne-Marie Mai, University of Southern Denmark, Chairman of the Danish Literature Council.

Professor Harold Bloom, Yale University.

Film and Television
Managing Director Eric Crone, FilmFyn

Bo Erhardt, Executive Producer, Nimbus Film

Director Bjørn Erichsen, European Broadcasting Union, Television Department

Classical Music
Principal Bertel Krarup, Carl Nielsen Academy of Music, Odense

Artistic Director & General Manager Per Erik Veng, Danish National Symphony
Orchestra and Choirs

Composer Tan Dun

Visual Arts
Director Karsten Ohrt, Kunsthallen Brandts Klædefabrik

Director Jens Erik Sørensen, The Aarhus Museum of Modern Art

Director Bera Nordal, Nordic Watercolour Museum

Theatre Manager Kasper Wilton, Odense Teater

General Manager Michael Christiansen, The Royal Theatre

Artistic Director Robyn Archer, Melbourne Festival

Chairman of the Board Claus Lynge, Teater Hedeland

School Leader Anna Grip, The Danish National School for Contemporary Dance

Programme Director Grace Lang, Hong Kong Arts Festival Society Ltd.

Rhytmic Music
Manager Jan Aaskov, Rytmeposten and Jazzhouse Dexter

Songwriter and musician Steffen Brandt

Artist and Composer Jean Michel Jarre

Museums and Exhibitions
Executive Director Torben Grøngaard Jeppesen, Odense City Museums

Director General Erland Kolding Nielsen, The Royal Library

Assistant Director for Public Programs Robert D. Sullivan, The Smithsonian Institution of Washington D.C.

Managing Director Kim Foldmann Jørgensen, The Foundation FynTour

Lars Blicher-Hansen. Function Manager at the National Danish Tourist Board.

Consul General Michael Metz Mørch, Royal Danish Consulate General, New York

Artistic Director Lars Waage, Den Fynske Opera

Artistic Director Jacob F. Shokking, Holland House

Artistic Director Josphine Markovits, Festival d'Automne  Paris

Managing Director Marius Byriel, Midtfyns Festival A/S

Managing and Artistic Director Allan Xenius Grige, Esbjerg Performing Arts Centre

General Coordinator Laurent Drano, Lille 2004

Professor of Multimedia Lars Qvortrup, University of Southern Denmark

Graphic Designer Morten Westermann, Oncotype Aps

Managing Director Gerfried Stocker, Ars Electronica Center

Professor Finn Hauberg Mortensen, Danish Institute for Upper Secondary Pedagogics, University of Southern Denmark

Rector Lars Henrik Schmidt, The Danish University of Education

Representative Morten Giersing, UNICEF, Bangladesh